Nu Vo

So we went to Boston this past week where my Grandmother lives. Oddly, I took two days off in the middle of the week to go up. Grandmother told us stories about Michael McGuire, my great-great grandfather who was born in Nova Scotia and moved down to MA as a child with his family. Michael McGuire’s son, Daniel, is whom my cousin Dan is named after. She also confirmed that an uncle, Frank, had been, as she phrased it, “an unorthodox operative” dwho was dropped behind enemy lines during WWII with instructions to relay back to the Allies the actions of the German troops in that spot.

After a long day of talk and reconfirming for Gandmother that indeed dinner would be arriving shortly (because she can’t see anything but changes in light), we decamped in search of good food in Boston.

Ok….well Roslindale!! We ate at a place called Nu Vo that was basically in what one might loosely refe to as “downtown” Roslindale. Um, yeah, like in the way that the “George Bush School of Government” at Texas A&M is totally, totally like not a joke…uh, man. (wtf? Do they teach you had to invade and torture?) Ok, granted this is named for W’s father so most likely they just teach you how to raise taxes.

While there was duck confit on the menu as my dinner guest stated, there was also a dinner special celbrating….wait for it…the street address number of Nu Vo….$43.42.
“Why look, there’s duck confit on the menu. how I’ve always wanted to try that. But wait, there’s a tempting dinner special tonight that includes 3 courses and a choice of wine. How will I decide?” my dinner guest said.

“Well, dinner guest, why don’t you leave the choice to me, and we’ll both have the dinner special with matching entrees but mismatched appetizers and wines.” I said to my dinner guest.

My dinner guest then threw down her spoon and ran out with a huff insulted at her lack of choice in the dinners morsels.

Unfazed, I signaled to the waiter to bring over double the entrees to me and I began devouring.

My dinner guest then threw down her spoon and ran out with a huff insulted at her lack of choice in the dinners morsels.

Unfazed, I signaled to the waiter to bring over double the entrees to me and I began devouring.

I started with the mussels in a lemongrass cream sauce:

Nu Vo, originally uploaded by Brockenbrough Photos.

Then, as my newly emptied table persisted, I devoured yet another appetizer selectioon, the salad:

Nu Vo, originally uploaded by Brockenbrough Photos.

Yum!

For our entrees, we both selected the Chicken Julienne with linguine. It was completely filling and the portions were just ridiculously generous.

Would I go to Nu Vo again? Yes, yes, I would, thank you for asking! Especially if they offer another of their dinner specials with three courses plus wine!

Leave a comment

Filed under Drinks, Food, Massachusetts, Restaurants, WTF?

Leave a Reply

